Pastéis de Nata

Nah, you haven’t been lost. And this is not a food blog, I assure you. pasteis-inspirefulness-1
The reason I’m presenting you the recipe of this delicious pastry is the fact that I love to travel and taste good local food. What is more, it is no secret that I spent 6 months in Portugal some time ago and I feel like it’s my second home! 🙂

When visiting this wonderful country, you need to try Pastéis de nata, a Portuguese egg tart pastry. The most famous ones (referred to as Pastéis de Belém) are to be found in the famous pastry shop in Lisbon. They are indeed delicious!

So finally, last night, I decided to go ahead and bake them. I was a bit scared to spoil them as I’m not a typical Nigella Lawson in the kitchen. Believe me, if I managed to bake such a dessert, you also will! Mouth-watering. That’s the only adjective that comes to my mind when I think of what came out of the oven…

Pasteis de Belem

Ingredients:

  • a layer of puff pastry
  • 500 ml milk
  • 250 g sugar
  • 60 g flour
  • 250 ml water
  • zest of 1 lemon
  • 1 cinnamon stick
  • 7 egg yolks

Preparation:

Take a layer of puff pastry and cut it in +/- 24 wheels. Put the wheels into the muffin tins and start preparing the cream.

Dissolve the flour in 200 ml milk. Boil the remaining milk, along with the cinnamon stick and lemon zest. While the milk is boiling, add the mixture carefully and make sure to dissolve it well (by mixing energetically). Take off the stove.

In another pan, boil the water with sugar. Once ready, pour carefully into the cream and stir well. Leave the mixture to cool down.pastel-inspirefulness-2

Separate the yolks from the whites. Add the yolks to the cream mixture and stir well again.

Pour the cream onto the pastry wheels and bake your Pastéis de nata in the preheated oven at 250 degrees for 30 minutes.

Enjoy! 🙂

2 thoughts on “Pastéis de Nata

Leave a Reply

